Ozzy Osbourne Details New Album ‘Patient Number 9’, Shares Title Track

Two years on from his last studio album, Ozzy Osbourne has detailed his 13th solo record, with Patient Number 9 set to arrive in September.

News of the forthcoming record comes just weeks after Osbourne revealed to fans that he was set to undergo a surgery which could “to determine the rest of his life”. Following updates from wife Sharon that he was in fact doing well, it seems that Osbourne has recovered enough to launch his next musical chapter, formally announcing the release of Patient Number 9.

Fittingly set for release on 9th September, Patient Number 9 sees Osbourne working with an impressive array of collaborators, including Eric Clapton, Josh Homme, Duff McKagan, Chad Smith, Robert Trujillo, Mike McCready, Chris Chaney, and the late Taylor Hawkins.

Notably, the record also sees Osbourne’s Black Sabbath bandmate Tony Iommi taking on lead guitar duties for the first time on one of his solo records. In a series of responses to fan questions (via Ultimate Guitar), Osbourne expressed his wish that some of these tracks could have found their way onto Black Sabbath’s final record.

“It was really great working with Tony,” he explained. “He’s the riff master. No one can touch him in that respect. I only wish we had these songs for Black Sabbath’s 13 album.”

Alongside the announcement of the record, Osbourne has also shared the title track, with ‘Patient Number 9’ also featuring the legendary Jeff Beck on guitar duties.

“The song is about a mental institution. Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honour,” explained Osbourne. “There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9’ is just jaw-dropping.”

[embedded content]

Patient Number 9 is set for release 9th September.

Ozzy Osbourne – Patient Number 9

    1. Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
    2. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
    3. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
    4. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
    5. One Of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
    6. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
    7. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
    8. Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)
    9. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
    10. Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)
    11. Dead And Gone
    12. God Only Knows
    13. Darkside Blues
Back To Top